Council services by letter

Agenda and minutes


Venue: Committee Rooms 1 & 2, Harrow Civic Centre, Station Road, Harrow, HA1 2XY. View directions

Contact: Alison Atherton, Senior Professional - Democratic Services  Tel: 020 8424 1266 E-mail:

No. Item


Attendance by Reserve Members

To note the attendance at this meeting of any duly appointed Reserve Members.


Reserve Members may attend meetings:-


(i)                 to take the place of an ordinary Member for whom they are a reserve;

(ii)               where the ordinary Member will be absent for the whole of the meeting; and

(iii)             the meeting notes at the start of the meeting at the item ‘Reserves’ that the Reserve Member is or will be attending as a reserve;

(iv)              if a Reserve Member whose intention to attend has been noted arrives after the commencement of the meeting, then that Reserve Member can only act as a Member from the start of the next item of business on the agenda after his/her arrival.


RESOLVED:  To note the attendance at this meeting of the following duly appointed Reserve Members:-


Ordinary Member


Reserve Member


Councillor Amir Moshenson

Councillor Nitesh Hirani

Councillor Angella Murphy-Strachan

Councillor Kairul Marikar



Declarations of Interest

To receive declarations of disclosable pecuniary or non pecuniary interests, arising from business to be transacted at this meeting, from:


(a)               all Members of the Committee;

(b)               all other Members present.


RESOLVED:  To note that the following interests were declared:


Agenda Item 3 – Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places

Councillor Ramji Chauhan declared a non-pecuniary interest in that he was a Councillor in the Harrow Weald ward which could potentially involve changing polling stations.  He would remain in the room whilst the matter was considered and voted upon.



Review of Polling Districts and Polling Places pdf icon PDF 119 KB

Report of the Director of Legal and Governance Services

Additional documents:


The Committee received a report of the Director of Legal and Governance Services which set out the outcomes reached by the Working Group, established to ensure the Council met its statutory obligation to conduct a review of its polling districts and polling places.


Councillor Keith Ferry, Deputy Leader and Portfolio Holder for Regeneration, Planning and Employment introduced the report and explained that he had been appointed the Chair of the Working Group.  The Working Group had operated on a cross party basis and had concluded that there was no reason to alter the existing arrangements.  The Working Group would now commence work on the new polling districts and polling places which are due to come into force in May 2022.  This would be an extensive piece of work but it was anticipated that this would be concluded at the end of this year.


Councillor Paul Osborn, Leader of the Conservative Group, explained that he was also a member of the Working Group and confirmed that the conclusions had been reached on a cross party basis.  The recommendations would ensure that the same arrangements would be in place for the Greater London Authority Elections in May 2020, which was the last scheduled election before 2022.  The Working Group would now start from scratch in relation to the new arrangements.




(1)          the recommendations of the Working Group in relation to the individual polling districts and polling places for all future elections up to 2022 be approved;


(2)          it be noted that following publication of the final recommendations of the Local Government Boundary Commission for England (LGBCE), work will now commence on the future polling district and polling places arrangements which will come into effect in May 2022.